The perfect weekend.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Derek and I went to Ace Hotel & Swim Club in Palm Springs for the weekend to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary.  Derek had been working like crazy for the last few weeks, so a relaxing weekend was exactly what he (we) needed, and it was so great to enjoy it together.  We laid by the pool for most of the time, but we also treated ourselves to a suuuper relaxing couples massage…oh man was that ever amazing.  We will definitely be back to Ace – it was very much our style.  Everything’s decorated with a vintage, hand-picked flare, and nothing is without character.  Mmm.mmm.mmm.  Love it.

Also, we started a new tradition!  Since not only did Derek propose to me with photobooth strips, but we also had a photobooth at our wedding, we are going to take a photos in a photobooth each year on our anniversary!  Lucky for us, the Ace Hotel has an old black and white photobooth in their lobby.  Meant to be.

I’m pretty sure I’m more in love with Derek now than I ever have been before.  He’s the best I could ask for.

4 Responses to “The perfect weekend.”


  1. 1 sanctamonius 9th August 2010 at 1:16 pm

    The photbooth thingy is too flippin cool, good for you!

  2. 2 sarah montoya 9th August 2010 at 3:28 pm

    LOVE it. It makes me want to go there! oh, and can’t wait to see you in October!!!

  3. 3 katie 10th August 2010 at 1:01 am

    aweeeeee mel. this is such a fantastic post. im so happy you two love birds got to get away. how fun is that?
    that photobooth thing at the hotel is totall fate, isnt it?? how amazing. really so wonderful.

  4. 4 Jessica 10th August 2010 at 9:45 am

    Love it!!! So glad you guys had a great anniversary! ;-)


Leave a Reply

Visit my website to see my current work: www.melodyhansen.com

Follow Melody on Instagram!

Today I took my 2 YEAR OLD to @disneyland for his birthday! We had the best time ever, starting the day with some friends, and ending the day just the two of us. He met "Red" from Cars, Olaf, Mickey, Minnie & Donald Duck. We rode tons of rides, ate a special ice cream with Mickey-shaped confetti candies on it, saw a show with some of his faves in it, and laughed a whole lot. These first two years of life as this kid's mom has been insane and incredible. But if the awesomeness from these last 2 years is any indication, I'm pretty sure this next one will be even better. I've been a mom to this sweetheart for 2 years, and I couldn't be happier. #wildercobalt #2yearsold #disneyland 2 years ago almost to the minute, I felt my very first contractions. Not knowing that I was in labor, as it was 5 weeks before my due date, I didn't know what to expect, nor did I feel quite ready for what I was about to do. But with my wonderful husband by my side, and the best team of birthing professionals around me, I began the journey of labor and delivery, to bring my precious and perfect little Wilder into the world. Tonight as I rocked my big boy before bed, and listened to him tell me what songs I should sing, and that he was going to go to sleep with "no crying" (yeah right), I couldn't help but remember the first moments of this momma life that I now find myself in, and am so thankful for. It wasn't even marginally easy, but I wouldn't change a thing (for the most part). Happy almost birthday to my sweet Wilder, and happy almost birth-day to me! THANK YOU to my loved ones who helped it happen. ❤️ 📷: @jadebrookbank I love this pretty little corner of Flowerboy. 🌷✨🌾 This morning Wilder and I went to @amagicforest for a little imagination play on this rainy day. He had the BEST time "cooking", being a gnome, and playing with the other kids there. We hadn't been there since he was a new walker, so this was such a different experience! This boy will be 2 in 5 days...unreal! (😭😍) #wildercobalt This boy was stoked on his new/first big kid haircut today! Woot! 💇🏼‍♂️ #firsthaircut #2yearsold #almost #wildercobalt Looking back on 2016, it was full of amazing accomplishments for this little guy. He learned so many things; just to name a few...he learned to: walk, run, climb, talk, sing, ride a scooter, draw, use his imagination to play pretend...the list goes on. I learned so many more things about his sweet, loving, determined, smart little personality, and what it means to be a momma to him. Here we go, on to age 2 in a couple of weeks, and on to another year full of new discoveries and further developing this little, amazing human! Happy New Year! #wildercobalt #23months  #2017 The last 4 days spent with family in Northern California celebrating Christmas and each other was so wonderful - a year to be treasured. It felt like much more than 4 days (in a good way), and I am so thankful for that. Seeing my boy bond and connect with our families is so special. Love all of you so much, and miss you already! #wildercobalt #23months Merry Christmas Eve! 🎄 
This year seeing my love for all things Christmas reflected in my son's eyes has been the most precious experience. I hope everyone has an amazing holiday weekend with your loved ones! ❤️ #wildercobalt This little 23-month-old is my everything. His laughter and hilarious sense of humor keeps me laughing all day, right up until we turn the lights off at the end of the night. I feel so beyond thankful to be the momma to this sweet, thoughtful, creative, funny little guy. I can't believe that he's going to be 2 in only a month... 💔 #wildercobalt #23months
📷: @capturingmotherhood Back at @Disneyland today, and Wilder went on tea cups for the first time. Not into it. Really sorry I tried to take you on this super fun ride. #wildercobalt #missedhisnap #happiestplaceonearth #assholeparents

