A small taste of the wedding…

Here are a few photos from my fun, hand-crafted wedding.  It was planned in about 2 1/2 months!  All thanks to Marky Carr from Vignette Events, who is the on-site wedding coordinator at Radonich Ranch where we held the event.

At our wedding, pretty much everything was hand made.  My friend Anna Bond (Rifle Design–Featured as an invitation designer in the current Martha Stewart Weddings) designed our invitations, and allowed me to have the files and I screen printed the invitations myself (and the programs, and the cocktail napkins, using the logo she designed for us)!  My dress and Derek’s vest was made by my best friend’s mom, Luba Golin.  She copied a dress that I had fallen in love with, and I’m pretty sure that no one would be able to tell the difference.  It was perfect.  My mom sewed hundreds of feet of cloth carnival flags, made up of mis-matched fabric; she also sewed table runners for all of the tables.  My sister made my hair piece and my guestbook.  My good friend Amy made our cupcakes (lavender cream cheese flavor!) from scratch…and boy were they delicious.  Our friend Dani was the fabulous DJ.  Vasna Wilson was our photographer (and one of my favorite Bay Area wedding photographers! http://www.vasphotography.com).  Oh my oh my…I’m sure I’m leaving out so much.  But there were a lot of hands involved to create the perfect day!

I love planning events, so this was a joy for me to do.  If anyone needs wedding planning help…I’m your girl!  Especially if you like hand made details.  Below are some images including: my inspiration board, the Carolina Herrera dress that was copied for me, and a few photos taken by guests during the wedding.

FINALinspBoardCH Fall 08n593912958_3255700_1289629n593912958_3255709_6714686n593912958_3255419_3584386n593912958_3255442_6226105n6700122_37656809_971179n6700122_37656810_21911575892_1194987120717_1409627635_569870_4984260_n

14 Responses to “A small taste of the wedding…”


  1. 1 luvmybeagles 16th October 2009 at 12:48 pm

    So happy to see you blogging again and sharing with everyone your most amazing wedding.

  2. 2 kelli 8th November 2009 at 8:05 pm

    i came across your blog when looking at radonich ranch for our possible wedding location as well. your day looked amazing! could you possibly give me some pricing insight to the venue as we cannot seem to find anything online. we are having a small affair as well (50) and were just wondering about approximate prices. thanks!

    • 3 melodymakes 10th November 2009 at 3:54 pm

      Hi Kelli!

      Oh my goodnes.. I would 100% recommend Radonich Ranch for your wedding day! It was incredibleeee. And Marky (the coordinator there) makes everything easy as pie for everyone involved! The BEST PART is that with them you don’t have to find a florist, a caterer, you don’t have to rent chairs, or linens…etc etc etc…she and her staff do it ALL for you. Leaves room for you to relax and just embellish as much as you want! For prices, there is a flat rate for the property, which I thinkkkk is about $3000, plus $72 per guest. Pretty reasonable…especially considering the only things you have to buy in addition to that is any extra decor, alcohol, the photographer and cake. Easy. Email Marky@vignetteevents.com and tell her I sent you! She is amazingggg!

  3. 4 Meghan Blake 11th November 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I LOVE your wedding. My fiance and I are trying to book Radonich for 2010, but Marky says they are all filled up already! :( She said that they only do a limited amount of weddings each year. How far did you have to book out? Do you think there are any ways to sneak in for 2010? Any insight you could provide would be great!

    • 5 melodymakes 11th November 2009 at 11:36 pm

      Thank you, Meghan!! It truly was an incredible location… I have to tell you though that we got suuuuper lucky and we were one of the very FIRST weddings at Radonich Ranch with Marky! Not to mention, we planned our wedding super fast, and she didn’t have anything booked during the time we wanted to have ours, so she was just excited to have something booked so soon, since they were just starting to book it as a wedding venue. I would say maybe just ask her to keep you posted, and if you’re flexible with your dates, maybe she has something available for early 2011? I know, you don’t want to wait forever too long, especially since I’m sure you’re super excited. Let me know if I can help you in any other way! I love weddings and planning them…so any insight you need, I would love to help ya! Best of luck to you…

  4. 6 soontobesawyer 16th November 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Hi Melody,
    Thanks for posting these photos. I am getting married at the ranch in May 2010 and seeing these photos makes me even more excited! Plus, I couldn’t agree more: Marky is absolutely fantastic!

    Stephanie

    • 7 melodymakes 18th November 2009 at 12:49 pm

      oh my goodness! congrats!!! i wish i could relive my wedding day there…it was absolutely magical. literally every single guest was in a total trance and they all told me after words how completely dream-like the entire day was! which is exactly what i was going for… :) best of luck! if you need any suggestions or help, don’t hesitate to ask!!!

  5. 8 Jennifer 19th November 2009 at 5:58 pm

    hi!
    where did you get your beautiful wedding dress?
    jennifer

    • 9 melodymakes 24th November 2009 at 11:35 am

      my best friend’s mom actually copied a carolina herrera dress for me! it was from her fall 2008 collection, but i was just soooo in love with it that i HAD to have it! not to mention i probably saved quite a bit by having it copied…if you look here you can see my post with my inspiration board from my wedding, and right under that is the original dress by the designer. i literally sent my best friend’s mom these photos, and she took my measurements and sent me the dress EXACTLY like the original! so amazing… i could get you her info if you’re interested. :)

  6. 10 eandd 6th January 2010 at 11:22 pm

    hi! i love your wedding, too! i especially love your dress! i just got engaged early december and barely a week later, i found the radonich ranch on herecomestheguide! we finally met marky and visited the ranch last week and it was so beautiful — even with barely any flowers at this time! lol. marky was also very nice and really gave good ideas and tips. did you get to taste the food prior to booking? i had asked her about it but she politely explained that she doesn’t do tastings due to not having a permanent commercial kitchen… we love the place but not being able to do a tasting prior to booking is unnerving. how was the food at your wedding? also the rate has now increased to $3,700 and to $86 per person. we’re trying to do a DIY wedding as well and would love any ideas you want to share! :)

  7. 11 michelle baldwin 28th July 2011 at 10:54 am

    Hello!
    I stumbled across your site while researching the ranch for my October 2012 wedding!! I am interested in having my dress made, and I love the pictures of yours, you look gorgeous! Please let me know if I can contact the person who made your gown. Thanks so much, Michelle.

    • 12 Melody 10th August 2011 at 10:14 pm

      Hi Michelle,

      My best friend’s mom made my dress for me! She is incredible and can do all styles of dresses. I just found a photo of the dress I wanted online, and she copied it exactly. Here’s a link to her website: http://lubasews.com/

      Keep in mind though that she doesn’t sew full time and doesn’t always check her email. :) She’s a mom and a grandmother first, so she only takes jobs when she has the time. But she is a very sweet lady! Send her an email!

      Congratulations! Radonich Ranch is the best place. We just celebrated 2 years since our beautiful wedding day!

  8. 13 kim 28th November 2013 at 7:40 am

    Oh my i am in love with your handmade beauties. Also the venue seems to be perfection. I am planing on having my wedding there as well my fiance and i fell in love with this place ride away. But not too sure where to book it at. Do you happen to have a contact email? Because we do want to do a lot of things our selvesso we would only be interested on the location. You were a true inspiration love your side.
    Thans so much


Leave a Reply

Visit my website to see my current work: www.melodyhansen.com

Follow Melody on Instagram!

Even when peonies are falling apart and on their last leg, they are still so lovely. Perhaps there's a lesson here? 🙃 You could definitely say we have stationery fever. I'm ok with it. 📝 💛🗒🖋💌 We saw the best, most beautiful shades of pink today wandering around magical NYC. Head over to @urbanic's feed for her slideshow of pink! 👛🌸💕 New life goal: become the "Brunch Lady"
🍳💁🏻 #nss2017 I'm the worst today! It's my loving and wonderful husband's birthday today. I'm out of town, and he is home celebrating with sweet Wilder. They went to Disneyland, and I'm sure had the best time. Though I'm sad I'm not with him today, I'm so glad these two get some precious one-on-one time together. I'm thankful to have this man as my partner in life, and for all he does to support me/our little family. Happy birthday, @_derekhansen! ❤️ This beautiful Mother's Day arrangement was lovingly foraged from around the neighborhood by @_derekhansen & #wildercobalt. Those two are master flower arrangers! I'm so lucky. ❤️🌷 This morning was the annual fire fighters pancake breakfast, where you get to eat pancakes and climb on the fire truck. Fortunately for us, those are Wilder's 2 favorite things in life (he requests pancakes literally every day). He had the BIGGEST grin on this face the whole time we were there, AND he added another favorite thing to his list...bounce houses. This kid can JUMP. It was such a delight to get to see him so joyous and in his element completely. Thankful to be this boy's momma. #wildercobalt 🚒🥞❤️ My little Wilder is growing into such an amazing little being. The way he says "ok, mama" when I ask him to do something melts my heart every dang time. Or how he randomly says "I forgot" when it makes no sense at all in context. Or my favorite as of late - "mama, what you doing?" 😍 I mean, what!?! His language skills are beyond incredible, and right there with it is his dexterity (see my Instagram story of him opening a Babybel cheese by himself) and coordination. He is so dang smart and blows me away daily with what he observes and how clearly he sees the world. 
Wilder, you special boy, you are my world, and I love you endlessly. #wildercobalt These flowers by @hellohoneyflowerco for the #amylovesurbanic event the other night were bananas! ✨🌸 We got to look at some pretty poppies this morning! This little guy has been very into flowers lately, so this was a special treat for him -- too bad (for him) he wasn't allowed to pick any! 🌼 #wildercobalt

